International football comprises of nations from all over the world contained in six confederations: AFC, CAF, CONCACAF, CONMEBOL, OFC and UEFA. Most football nations belong to FIFA with a few nations not permitted to join the association such as Gibraltar and Greenland. Each confederation hold their own championship such as the European Championships or the Copa America.

The major tournament run by FIFA is the World Cup which is held every four years. All FIFA members are able to compete and qualify for the 32 positions in the group stages of the cup. Each confederation runs their own qualification tournament. The last World Cup was in South Africa in 2010 and the next in Brazil in 2014. Brazil have won five World Cup titles, the most of any nation. Other key tournaments include the Confederations Cup and the Women's World Cup.